European Film Awards – The winners of the 32nd edition

7 December, 2019

The Christmas Gift (by Bogdan Mureşanu) and Marona’s Fantastic Tale (by Anca Damian) were the Romanian films nominated this year for the European Film Awards.

european film awards
European Film Awards

European Film Awards, one of the most prestigious European award events, is organized by the European Film Academy (EFA) and had its first edition in 1988. EFA was founded at the initiative of Ingmar Bergman, and today brings together more than 3600 film professionals. Besides the European Film Awards, EFA holds numerous conferences, workshops and seminars.

This year, European Film Awards took place in Berlin on December 7th. The Gala is organized every two years in Berlin and in other European cities the rest of the time.

The competition was a close one, with films that already have a resounding international fame, such as: The Favorites (dir. Yorgos Lanthimos), Dolor y Gloria (dir. Pedro Almodóvar), Les Misérables (dir. Ladj Ly) etc.

The movie that went home with the most awards is The Favourite (dir. Yorgos Lanthimos) and the Romanian film The Christmas Gift (dir. Bogdan Mureșanu) won the European Short Film award.


Below you have the complete list of the winners:

European Film: The Favourite (dir. Yorgos Lanthimos)

European Comedy: The Favourite (dir. Yorgos Lanthimos)

European Discovery – Prix Fipresci: Les Misérables (dir. Ladj Ly)

European Documentary:  For Sama (dir. Waad Al-Kateab)

European Animated Feature Film: Buñuel in the Labyrinth of the Turtles (dir. Salvador Simó)

European Short Film: The Christmas Gift (dir. Bogdan Mureșanu)

European Director: Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

European Actress: Olivia Colman (The Favourite)

European Actor: Antonio Banderas (Dolor y Gloria)

European Screenwriter: Céline Sciamma (Portrait of a Lady On Fire)

European Cinematography: Robbie Ryan (The Favourite)

European Editing: Yorgos Mavropsaridis (The Favourite)

European Production Design:  Antxon Gómez (Dolor y Gloria)

European Costume Design: Sandy Powell (The Favourite)

European Hair & Make-Up: Nadia Stacey (The Favourite)

European Original Score: John Gürtler (Systemsprenger)

Efa Lifetime Achievement Award: Werner Herzog

European Achievement In World Cinema Award: Juliette Binoche

European Achievement In Fiction Series Award: Babylon Berlin

Eurimages Co-Production Award: Ankica Juric Tilic

Efa People’s Choice Award For Best European Film: Cold War (dir. Pawel Pawlikowski)

Writer, photographer and videographer. For Films in Frame she writes news about the latest happenings in the film world and brings to the readers' attention the productions that can be seen at the cinema. When she's not writing articles, she's photographing people in a small studio or searching for new cake recipes.