European Film Awards – Winners of 2020

13 December, 2020

The 33rd edition of the European Film Awards took place this year in a new formula, adapted to the current context. The event was held without an audience and was live streamed on the EFA platform and on the partner platforms (including TIFF Unlimited) between December 8-12, labeled as The EFAs at Eight.

“The times we live in call for innovation and extra creativity. In this unusual year, this will be an unusual and, we hope, an exceptional awards ceremony – one with a different approach, that will allow us to give more attention to the various awards presented. Necessity being the mother of invention, we have chosen to try out this different format, and will use it to see how we will further develop the EFAs in the years to come”, stated Mike Downey, Chairman of the European Film Academy.

The most outstanding productions of this year were celebrated during these 4 days of the ceremony, and the nominees and winners participated via real-time video conferences.

Below, you can find the complete list of winners:

European Film: Another Round (dir. Thomas Vinterberg)

European Director: Thomas Vinterberg (Another Round)

European Screenwriter: Thomas Vinterberg, Tobias Lindholm (Another Round, dir. Thomas Vinterberg)

European Actor: Mads Mikkelsen (Another Round, dir. Thomas Vinterberg)

European Actress: Paula Beer (Undine, dir. Christian Petzold)

European Comedy: The Big Hit (dir. Emmanuel Courcol)

European Documentary: Collective (dir. Alexander Nanau)

European Animated Feature Film: Josep (dir. Aurel)

European Short Film: All Cats are Grey in the Dark (dir. Lasse Linder)

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI: Sole (dir. Carlo Sironi)

European Cinematography: Matteo Cocco (Hidden Away, dir. Giorgio Diritti)

European Editing: Maria Fantastica Valmori (Once More Unto the Breach, dir. Federico Ferrone, Michele Manzolini)

European Production Design: Cristina Casali (The Personal History of David Copperfield, dir. Armando Iannucci)

European Costume Design: Ursula Patzak (Hidden Away, dir. Giorgio Diritti)

European Make-up & Hair: Yolanda Piña, Félix Terrero, Nacho Diaz (The Endless Trench, dir. Aitor Arregi, Jon Garaño, Jose Mari Goenaga)

European Original Score: Dascha Dauenhauer (Berlin Alexanderplatz, dir. Burhan Qurbani)

European Sound: Yolande Decarsin, Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen (Little Girl, dir. Sébastien Lifshitz)

European Visual Effects: Iñaki Madariaga (The Platform, dir. Galder Gaztelu-Urrutia)

European University Film Award: Saudi Runaway (dir. Susanne Regina Meures)

Eurimages Co-Production Award: Luís Urbano

EFA Award for Innovative Storytelling: Mark Cousins (Women Make Film: A New Road Movie Through Cinema)

Writer, photographer and videographer. For Films in Frame she writes news about the latest happenings in the film world and brings to the readers' attention the productions that can be seen at the cinema. When she's not writing articles, she's photographing people in a small studio or searching for new cake recipes.